Saturday, February 13, 2016

International Organizations and their Headquarters and Heads

International Organizations and their Headquarters and Heads, Function, Member Country

In every competitive exams like Banking, SSC, Other Govt exams, you will get based on International Organization in the world, their location, headquarter, managing head and the total member countries with its functions. Here we have listed some famous international organization name along with its details. You should read and memorize it for the upcoming Banking examination.

1.  United Nation (UN) 
  • Function : It is an intergovernmental organization established on 24 October 1945 to promote international co-operation.  
  • Headquarter : New York ,  
  • Head : Ban ki-moon  
  • New Member : South Sudan. 
  • Total Member Countries : 193 
2.  WTO (World Trade Org.) 
  • Headquarter : Geneva, Switzerland,   
  • Head : Roberto Azev√™do 
  • New Member : Yemen new member country. 
  • Total Member Countries :160 
3.  World Bank 
  • Function : The World Bank is a United Nations international financial institution that provides loans to developing countries for capital programs. 
  • Headquarter  : Washington D.C. (United States)  President – Jim Yong Kim 
  • New Member : South Sudan new member country. 
  • Total Member Countries :188 
4.  IMF – The International Monetary Fund
  • Function: (IMF) is an international organization that was initiated in 1944 at the Bretton Woods Conference and formally created in 1945 by 29 member countries.  
  • Headquarter : Washington DC . (United States)   
  • President : Christine Lagarde 
  • New Member :  South Sudan new member country. 
  • Total Member Countries :188 
5.  European Union 
  • New Member : Croatia new member country.  
  • Total Member Countries : 28 member countries.  
  • Headquarter : Brussels, Belgium 
6.  Eurozone  
  • Function: The growth of the eurozone is an ongoing process within the European Union (EU). All Member states of the European Union, except for Denmark and the United Kingdom are obliged to adopt the euro as their sole currency once they meet the criteria.  
  • Member countries: The eurozone currently comprise 18 EU states.  
  1. Latvia becomes the 18th Member State to adopt the euro on 1 January 2014. 
  2. Lithuania has been approved for euro adoption on 1 January 2015
7.  ASEAN - Association of Southeast Asian Nations 
  • Function : It is a political and economic organisation of ten countries located in Southeast Asia, which was formed on 8 August 1967.  
  • Headquarter : Jakarta, Indonesia   
  • Member countries :10 member countries  (India is not the member of ASEAN) 
8.  APEC (Asia  Pacific Economic Cooperation )
  • Function : It is a forum for 21 Pacific Rim member economies that seeks to promote free trade and economic cooperation throughout the Asia-Pacific region. It was established in 1989 
  • Headquarter : Singapore   
  • Member Countries : 21 
9.  OPEC (Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries) 
  • Function : It is an international organization and economic cartel whose mission is to coordinate the policies of the oil-producing countries 
  • Headquarter : Vienna, Austria , 
  • Member Countries : 12 member countries